Indian Inspiration

Standard

I finally got to my mom’s with a camera and was able to snap a few pictures of my room there. I am very proud of this room even though my mom did end up doing most of work since we were moving into this house as I was starting collage classes. I did put the upholstery tacks on the doors though.

We choose to use an Indian theme for the room and I must say it turned out fantastically! Get ready for plenty of COLOR! Below are some shots of the rooms as you enter.

I have had all the mahogany furniture since I was little. The bed is a twin so we built a platform to extend it to fit a queen sized mattress, so that is why the foot board ends before the mattress. And ignore the white rectangles on the closet door by the dresser. Those are just from an over the door shoe organizer, not part of the aesthetic.

The mask on the wall by the desk is something my mom made for one of my High School formal dances. My mom is an amazing crafter/artist and person. My Aunt painted the giraffe and panda which you will see in the pictures of the bed/entry. And the teddy bear is Cuddles, the bear I have had since I was a wee little baby. The ballet poster over the desk I found on Ebay. Can’t remember what I paid for it but whatever it was it was worth it! So focus on that and the fabric draped over the bookshelf instead of the cheap cabinet. Never did get around to pretty-ing that thing up. We were going to try a finish similar to the green box on the desk. Oh well!

I should have taken a close up of the elephant on the wall because it looks like an elephant one way and a man the other. Great piece! And it’s framed nicely by the Sari fabric draped over the canopy. I LOVE sari fabrics! Another thing I should have gotten a close up of are the doors. We covered the doors in leather and you can kind of see the upholstery tacks I hammered into the door. Boy was that a PAIN! Literally! My fingers were quite sore after hammering in so many tacks into them. I had to hold the tack with my fingers and hammer them in until I could barely remove my fingers from between the door and the tack. Looks good though!

I love my room! I can’t provide a source list since we bought the stuff so long ago, but if you have any questions about the room let me know and I will be happy to answer what I can.

Do you have a bold Indian inspired room at your mom’s place? Are you running for a neutral cover after this color explosion?

About thedistractedblogger

I am a curious person and am interested in most things therefore I have way to many hobbies. This blog will most likely reflect my love of crafts and home organization. There may be some dance, fashion, and geekyness thrown in there somewhere as well. The Distracted Blogger will likely live up to her name and may not post regularly. Let's face it, this ADD kid's focus shifts like the changing winds.

11 responses »

  1. Pingback: 3 Awesome Reader Projects | The Borrowed Abode

Leave a Reply

