Road Paved In Curtains

Standard

This one is for you Kate!

I have been working on my curtains for the apartment for what seems like forever and I am still not done yet. I thought I would start blogging about it anyway. I do have one of four panels completed, so that should be enough to start, right? Anyone? Well it is for this girl.

Curtain mania started started probably a year ago, maybe longer and by that I mean the bug that convinced me I need fancy curtains. It took me forever to find just the right material.

I knew I wanted something with orange in it.
I wanted something fun that would make me smile.
I wanted something thick enough to block out a decent amount of light so there would be fewer mornings waking up with migraines.
I also didn’t want it to break the bank.
I also didn’t want to settle so I took my time looking around.

At first I entertained the idea of buying canvas drop cloths and DIY’ing my own which had become a popular topic in the blogsphere. After looking at the prices it wasn’t cheap enough to be worth it to me. After that I just stalked the internet and local fabric stores for fabric I could fall in love with. It took me around 4-6 months, my memory is horrible, but I finally found this on Bonanza!

Jay McCarroll Germania Germascus Green Fabric

Orange – Check
Fun – Double Check.
Thick – No. It’s just a thin cotton, but I figured I could find a cheap fabric to line it with. WORTH IT!
Price – $8.00/yard at 11 yards (Bay windows = lots of fabric)  Total of $84.00 total with shipping. Not dirt cheap but the amount of smiles it produced in me was worth it.

After several visits to the fabric warehouses in the city I was able to find a nice thick cream upholstery fabric in the Pottery Barn remnant pile for three dollars and change per yard. Score!

Then I just picked up some orange thread, some nice thick velcro for hanging and I was ready to dive in. For under $150.00 I was ready to make some curtains. Okay, so not cheap and I am not really sure how I did it, but I was determined. I needed some beauty in my environment to combat stress and the dull olive and cream Wal-mart curtains were not doing it for me.

The next obstacle was figuring out how to make curtains without space. I live in a studio apartment with my boyfriend and cat so the biggest available work space is John’s desk and the coffee table. John’s desk is occupied with plenty of other items and the coffee table is a coffee table. So I spent a little money on the BART to go to my Aunt’s house and use their floor to cut the fabric. I used her rug as a straight edge. Would have worked perfectly if I had thought to check the bias and the way the seller had cut the fabric from the bolt. Opps! It all worked out since I always leave more allowance than I need, but I have a few more extra awkward scraps. I think the original length was supposed to be 70”, not the 67” they are now. No matter, still a good length. It did take a lot longer than I thought it would to cut and hem the panels, all day really.

Not long after “the cutting” I was talking to my mom about driving up to see her and she offered to help with the curtains. Thank you mommy! My mom is fantastic with a needle and thread, and a paint brush, a whisk, a wok, and just about everything really. Mom showed me the error in my fabric cutting ways and came to the rescue in a big way. She re-cut the fabric and hemmed three of the four sides (so I could adjust the length in the space) since I had no real room to do it at home. I also may be a bit spoiled. I will admit it.

This rambling post is getting a little long so there will be more to come. A few Halloween posts coming up, including a cute and furry one!

Anybody else out there have problems with cutting straight?

I would still love any tips/tricks/opinions about my shirt refashion found here.

About thedistractedblogger

I am a curious person and am interested in most things therefore I have way to many hobbies. This blog will most likely reflect my love of crafts and home organization. There may be some dance, fashion, and geekyness thrown in there somewhere as well. The Distracted Blogger will likely live up to her name and may not post regularly. Let's face it, this ADD kid's focus shifts like the changing winds.

2 responses »

  1. Great fabric choice! I can’t wait to see your “dressed” windows.

    I too have been wanted curtains for our living room but have yet to make a final decision. I did, however, rule out any sewing because I had to break out the dictionary just to follow your sewing story!

    • Thank you!

      If you find a fabric you love but don’t want to sew you could probably take it to a local alteration shop with your desired measurements. Couldn’t hurt to call around before you buy any fabric. Or if you have a bunch of seamstress friends you could have a sewing party and have them help you through it to gain experience. You don’t have to settle to for boring pre-made curtains if you don’t want to!

      Happy Hunting!

Leave a Reply

